Posted in books

My Summer Reading List

I don’t know about anybody else, but one of my favourite things about Summer is having more time to read. With University finishing pretty early (around April, I think), it means I’ll have even more time to read in peace. No essays or assignments or exams to worry about. I also enjoy the process of deciding what books will be read during Summer. So, here’s my reading list…

‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ by Stephen Chbosky

This has to be my favourite book ever. I first read it in school, after watching the movie for Media to study. My friend let me borrow her copy and after reading it, I HAD to get my own. Since then, I have read it I don’t know how many times. It’s such an amazing story and can really change your perspective on things. The movie adaptation, I think, did the book justice. With its amazing cast, characters, narrative and soundtrack, what’s not to love?

‘Far From the Madding Crow’ by Thomas Hardy

I’ve never read this book or watched the movie adaptation. But, I’ve heard so many good things about this book, however, so when I went shopping with my friend (theseizurequeen.com), I couldn’t resist buying it! It had such a pretty cover and I even got £5 off because it was a bit damaged. Bargain!

‘The Harry Potter series (including the Cursed Child)’ by J. K. Rowling

I have never read the Harry Potter books. *Gasp*. I love the movies and enjoyed the new Fantastic Beasts film. However, it was only on my birthday and Christmas day last year that I was blessed with these books. I’m so excited to read them, but I’d rather wait until Summer time because then I don’t have any university worries hanging over my shoulder. I’ll be able to enjoy them in peace.

‘The Phantom of the Opera’ by Gaston Leroux

I am a HUGE fan of this movie with Gerard Butler and Emmy Rossum! As soon as I found out it was based on a book, I had to get it. I found it on Amazon at a pretty good price and couldn’t stop myself from putting it in my basket.

 

Author:

A 19-year-old girl from The Valleys, who's obsessed with Disney.

8 thoughts on “My Summer Reading List

  1. Once university is over GET READING THE HARRY POTTER BOOKS! I’m also at uni at the moment so I understand what a pain in the ass it can be this time of year. What are you studying?
    The Perks of Being a Wallflower is also potentially my favourite book and i wrote a review of it on my blog the other day. I’m also a fan of the movie which I’ve heard some people aren’t too keen on. Shame, I think it’s great!

    https://tenmoreminutesblog.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am, I’ve started the first one today and it’s just amazing xD it’s so annoying isn’t it? Like you want to read but you’re constantly thinking, ‘I should really be doing this essay right now.’ I’m studying English and Creative Writing, what are you studying? 🙂
      I’ll check out your review now! Yeah, I think they did a pretty good adaption of it as well! It’s so good!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m studying English Literature, hopefully in my third year I’ll get to study creative writing too! 🙂 don’t get me wrong I love my degree but I have a pile of books on my shelf that I don’t have time to read haha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

