Posted in disney, movie reviews

‘Beauty and the Beast’ (2017) spoiler free movie review

After hearing about this film being made into a live-action about a year or so ago, I was so excited. I knew I’d love it and would have to watch it the first day it came out. So that’s exactly what I did.

A Tale as Old Time; based on the original Disney movie released in 1991, this live action remake is truly unmissable! It’s fun, stylish, and whilst it keeps the original soundtrack, it has more amazing songs included!

Emma Watson plays the adorable Belle, and she’s probably the best Belle out there. Like Belle, Emma Watson has the same brown eyes and brown hair. She’s also a feminist, a bookworm, strong, and, independent. I can’t think of anyone who could have been a better choice. Watson also has such a sweet singing voice. At first, I was surprised that her voice was THAT good – who would have thought that Hermione could hit those notes? I was so excited to see Emma Watson play Belle. She’s one of my favourite actresses, and since Beauty and the Beast is one of my favourite Disney films, Belle is one of my favourite princesses.

beauty-beast-2017-gaston2
image via screenrant.com

Gaston was played by the talented (and hot) Luke Evans. I thought that he was the perfect Gaston. He had the look, voice, sass and attitude down to a work of art. Now, Gaston is one of my favourite Disney villains –  I still don’t particularly know why – so, the same as I was with Emma Watson and Belle, I was so pleased to see how well Luke Evans was Gaston.

I was also excited to hear a familiar voice from a past Disney movie. Josh Gad, who played Le Fou, was also the guy who played Olaf from Frozen. Did he keep the humour? Hell yeah! Gad and Evans were awesome on-screen together. However, whenever I heard his voice all I thought of was Olaf. I was almost expecting him to start telling Gaston in song form about how awesome Summer is.

However, I was also expecting that it would seem more obvious that Le Fou was gay; some parts would be clear for older audiences, but definitely not for children. They’d only see the humorous side. So, I don’t particularly understand why so many people made such a big fuss, when it’s not even a big deal, anyway? Le Fou, is awesome, leave him alone!

gallery-1478512906-beauty-and-the-beast-movie
image via digitalspy.com

 

The characters were portrayed accurately. And, watching this film brought so much nostalgia. It reminds you why you fell in love with the animated version in the first place. Yes, this will be cliché to say, but it was visually stunning. The iconic ballroom dance scene was romantically lit, the costumes were like the animation, the song gave you the same romantic feeling and the dancing was simply breathtaking. You could see the connection between Belle and the Beast. It was simply beautiful and truly a cinematic experience. I want to see it again!

Disney has been making many live-action films lately, and this film definitely continues that hot streak. It’s everything you expect and more! You won’t be disappointed with this film, at all. If you’re thinking of watching this, I’d suggest you go and watch it quickly. With the popularity it already has, the cast, and so many positive reviews already, it will surely break the bank at the box office.

MV5BMTUwNjUxMTM4NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODExMDQzMTI@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_
image via imdb.com
Author:

A 19-year-old girl from The Valleys, who's obsessed with Disney.

2 thoughts on “‘Beauty and the Beast’ (2017) spoiler free movie review

Leave a Reply

