Posted in disney

Why Luke Evans is the perfect Gaston

Last month, Disney released the new live-action movie ‘Beauty and the Beast’. It’s one of my favourite Disney live-action films and is definitely a must see! It’s perfect (check out my movie review for it here😉 ). While I loved all of the cast and characters, I loved Luke Evans and Emma Watson in particular.  Watching the movie, you can see why Disney chose Luke Evans as Gaston; he fits the role perfectly. Here are some reasons as to why I think he was the perfect Gaston…

Gaston_has_been_given_a_tragic_backstory_in_the_new_Beauty_and_the_Beast_movie.jpg
image via Disney

He has the look! Gaston has dark hair, a snazzy jaw line and a fit body. Luke Evans has exactly the same appearance. There’s no doubt that he’s attractive, making it understandable and easy to believe that the girls in the village swoon for him. Even Gaston swoons for himself. Another key aspect to Gaston’s look was that he was much taller than Belle; this was the same thing in this live-action movie. I love that they kept the big height difference because it really helps emphasise how powerful Gaston can be.

Beauty-and-the-Beast-EW-images-3-600x505.jpg
image via Disney

As well as the look, Luke Evans also had Gaston’s attitude down to a work of art. Gaston is obviously quite sexist and vain, but he also has that humour that you can’t help but laugh at. This is one of the reasons I love Gaston – his humour and vanity is just priceless! He’s also a ladies man, and even though Luke Evans is gay, he kept that ‘ladies man’ kind of vibe in this movie. At least, I thought he did.

tumblr_ojhvthACZz1umunxzo1_1280.jpg
image via Disney

Gaston also has quite a masculine voice, which Luke Evans keeps. In the ‘Gaston’ scene, his singing voice is even as impressive as the cartoon Gaston’s!

beauty-and-the-beast-luke-evans-josh-gad.jpg
image via Disney

Luke Evans is also a total badass, making him perfect for the famous fight scene. If you’ve seen Dracula Untold, you’ll know that Luke Evans does awesome stunts and fighting techniques. This also made me more excited for Beauty and the Beast, because I knew they’d probably add more suspense to the fight scene. While there was more excitement, though, his fighting was even more awesome in Dracula Untold (sorry). I still love him, though 😉

There’s my thoughts on why I thought Luke Evans was the perfect Gaston. He was truly much much better than I thought he was going to be – especially his singing voice – and if you’ve seen the movie I’m sure you’ll agree with me with my reasons. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, you have to!! It’s outstanding and beautiful!

beauty-and-the-beast-cast-instagram--1429085340.png

Author:

A 19-year-old girl from The Valleys, who's obsessed with Disney.

5 thoughts on “Why Luke Evans is the perfect Gaston

  1. It pains me to say that I really liked Gaston, or rather, Luke Evans’ Gaston. Gaston in the original is a quite terrifying caricature of man and while we still see that here, there’s something about Luke Evans’ performance that made it, dare I say, charming? I thought the danger in bringing Gaston to life in a live-action feature was that he would seem more cartoonish and exaggerated, but somehow they made him real and wholly entertaining. Loved this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

